July 26, 2011

Tonight ‘The Big Audition’ competition has been launched through ‘Pizza Express Jazz Club.’ Jamie Cullum performed a live gig at the Pizza Express Jazz Club in Soho, which so happens to be the place he got his big break 10 years ago. I can’t believe Jamie Cullum has been around that long already, I played that first album ‘Twentysomething’ to death.

Anyway, the winner of the competition will get £5000 to kick-start their career and the chance to perform at this club. All I need to do to enter is to send in a video of me and my best performance. I’ve got 37 days to get my entry in, so first and foremost I need to pick a song…

Here’s my choices:

Let Us Be Loving – Alice Russell

You Don’t Know My Name – Alicia Keys

How Much It Hurts – Just Off Turner

What shall I go with??

Here’s some video of the live-streamed gig that happened tonight in celebration of the launch of the competition. The set list was actually picked by the audience via Twitter. I think this is a pretty cool idea, if I’d remembered at the time, I would have requested ‘Next Year, Baby’… such a brilliant song. 🙂

 

I will keep you updated with the progress on my entry.

 

Alex x

 

Leave a Reply

